Steps for JGPS Travel Committee to organise a Bike Bus

  • Contact Ross for availability – ross.crook@btinternet.com – or he responds quickly on facebook messenger.
  • Contact Astley Ainslie staff in advance to let them know to open the gates and give rough times – I usually say between 8:20 and 8:30 South to North through the site. Contacts are:
    — “Tennant, Allan” <Allan.Tennant@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk>
    — “Muir, Sheena” <sheena.muir@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk>
    — “Patterson, Graham” <Graham.Patterson@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk>
  • Contact Council signals team to let the know to send someone to override the signals at Whitehouse Loan:
    Stuart Finlay <Stuart.Finlay@edinburgh.gov.uk>
    — Duncan Aitken <Duncan.Aitken@edinburgh.gov.uk>
  • Contact Neighbourhood Police
    — EdinburghMeadowsMorningsideCPT@scotland.pnn.police.uk
    Also can directly whatsapp PC Paul Rich on 07961501235 (usually better)
  • Let Colin know at the school to put out a special newsletter
    — Colin.McLean@jamesgillespies-pri.edin.sch.uk
  • Update the twitter and put a new pinned post with new image with date on (Pester Theresa to make this)
  • Update the date on the web page
  • Hang the Bike Bus sign up in school the week of the bike bus
  • Contact Lothian Buses on
    Customer Services <CustomerServices@lothianbuses.co.uk>
  • Contact helpers without kids – most importantly our trained rear-rider Robert:
    — r.gormley@ed.ac.uk
    Also though contact regulars such as Alan Brown and Dave French:
    — alan_r_brown@talktalk.net
    — david.j.french88@gmail.com
  • Make a post here if you feel like it to see if other folk will come to help out at junctions etc:
    http://citycyclingedinburgh.info/bbpress/topic.php?id=19521
  • Buy chocolates for signals and AA staff and/or pester Karen to make delicious cakes.